• Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black YouTube Icon

© 2019 Lyft, Inc

Driving Tips

No matter how many days or years you've driven around your city, there will always be more to learn. We've pulled together a few tips from our expert Lyft drivers to help you achieve and maintain a 5-star rating in Colorado. 

Driving in the snow

 

*We recommend AWD/4WD, snow tires, chains, and tread for all driving in Colorado winters

  • Call your rider to let them know you're en route. Winter driving conditions often cause slower driving speeds and longer ETAs, so greeting your rider on the phone can help their expectations. 

  • Drive slow and steady. Just because you know how to drive in the snow doesn't mean others do. Take your time and be courteous to other cars. Arriving safely is more important than arriving quickly.

  • Use your turn signals. Roads are narrow with snow banks, so let others know you plan to merge unexpectedly.

  • Check your car before you go. Do you have windshield fluid, a shovel, and an ice scraper? Be prepared before you hit the road.

  • Safety first. No matter what the earnings and passenger demand, keep safety as your first priority. If you're feeling frustrated or uncomfortable, take a break.

Driving late at night

What's it really like to drive during the weekend late night crowd?

  • More earnings. Drivers typically earn more from 11 PM - 2 AM than they do at other times

  • Higher demand. Rider demand is typically higher in Denver from 11 PM- 2 AM

  • Similar ratings. Riders are just as likely to give you 5 stars late at night as they do during other hours. ​

  • Sick passengers. A sick passenger is 1 in 3000 rides. You're unlikely to get one, but if you do, take 2 pictures and let Lyft know what happened via our online claim submission within 24 hours.

Driving Hour Limit

The Colorado Public Utilities Commission (PUC) has strict limits about how long TNC drivers may spend in driver mode. 

Drivers may not:

  • Spend more than 12 consecutive hours in driver mode. 

  • Spend a total of 16 hours in driver mode within one day. Drivers who reach this limit must take an 8 hour break. 

  • Spend more than 70 total hours in driver mode in a 7-day period. 

Warning: If you exceed the 16 hour daily or 70 hour weekly limit, Lyft is forced to pause your account for the next 24-48 hours. You will be notified via email when this happens. You may resume driving once that time is up. If you continue to violate any of the above regulations, you will be permanently deactivated and could face fines of up to $2,500 per day. 

Giving a ride with minors

Car seats: 

  • You are not expected to provide child/infant car seats, nor take small children without booster seats. 

  • It is illegal in Colorado to have an infant ride in someone's lap, even if the parent or guardian approves.

Age requirement:

  • Unaccompanied minors are prohibited from traveling with TNCs. If you believe your passenger is underage, you may ask them to confirm their age.

  • Drivers can report requests to transport unaccompanied minors.

More information on Lyft's safety policies can be found here

Our mission is to improve people's lives with the world's best transportation